Forever Cheerful

Early this year, a colleague lost his wife to cancer. Later I heard that a colleague had succumbed to cardiac arrest in the prime of his life, and another simply fell and died while participating in a rally. All victims were under 30.


These incidents touched me deeply and left me wondering, “What is the point of life?” There is no telling who may be with me tomorrow, or in fact, whether I would be here tomorrow. Every single person, including me, is sure of his/her immortality. Whenever we hear of accidents or other tragic deaths, we think (atleast subconsciously) – “Oh! Those things always happen to someone else, not me”.


Yet, we go about in our daily life, fighting over petty matters and holding on to grudges. Why bother with any of it, when life is as momentary and fleeting as a thought? Why not just be as happy as you can while you exist?


Personally, whenever I feel angry or irritated about something, all I wonder is – “Is this going to be something worth remembering after one year??” If the answer is ‘Yes’, then probably, I ought to fight for it. But if the answer is ‘No’,then I just let go of it. After all, what is the point in shooting up my BP when I wouldn’t even remember the cause after one year?


Just try to be as happy and cheerful as you can. After all, life exists when a mass of cells work in tandem. If even a single cell decides to halt work, then you are lost and floundering. Therefore, my motto is to face each day as it comes and to make the most of each and every moment of the day. And here is a song which perfectly sums up this thought –


“When upon life’s billows you are tempest-tossed,
When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.”

One thought on “Forever Cheerful

  1. "Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." — Mahatma GandhiThat is what the attitude should be. But most of us take life, and even people, for granted, until we experience emotional incidents that leaves a deep scar in some, and others tend to forget and go back to their old self within a couple of days.

Comments are closed.