Humanizing by WordPress

WordpressThe way WordPress ‘humanizes’ the views on its blogs is rather amusing. According to WordPress -

1 view = One is the loneliest number, but don’t worry you’ll get more hits soon. Maybe invite some friends? Thanks for the reassurance WordPress. That is truly a humane statement :-)

2 views = 2 is the first Sophie Germain prime, the first factorial prime, the first …. Hmmmm…Sophie Germain will be a lovely name for my next kid.

3 views = In baseball, 3 is the number of strikes before the batter is out and the number of …

5 views = The number 5 is the 5th Fibonacci number, being 2 plus 3. Well, well, well…who would have known that – 2 + 3 = 5.

7 views = On the seven-segment displays of pocket calculators and digital watches, 7 is the number with the most common glyph variation (0, 6 and 9 also have variant …

19 views = 19 is the first number with more than one digit that can be written from base 2 to base 19 using only the digits 0 to 9; the other number is 20. Does anyone have a clue what that means?

24 views = 24 is the factorial of 4 and a composite number, being the first number of the …

25 views = It is also a Cullen number. 25 is the smallest pseudoprime satisfying the congruence 7n = 7 mod n. [pssssssst....does anyone have a clue what a Cullen number is? I think it is the number of vegetarian vampires in The Twilight saga]

28 views = The NBA and NHL both operate four best-of-seven rounds during the playoffs; thus , 28 is the maximum number of games that a team could possibly play in the …

39 views = 39 is the smallest natural number which has three partitions into three parts which all give the same product when multiplied: {25, 8, 6}, {24, 10, 5}, {20, …   I  wish that made some sense to me.

41 views = 41 is the smallest Sophie Germain prime to start a Cunningham chain of the ….. Sounds like the aristocracy.

42 views = It is a Catalan number. Consequently; 42 is the number of noncrossing … In the reiser4 file system, 42 is the inode number of the root directory. Why can’t we simply say that there were 42 views on my blog and leave it at that?

So, by humanising the number of views, WordPress gives me something to smile about in addition to the number of views generated by my blog.

8 thoughts on “Humanizing by WordPress

  1. Hello Fire Crystals,

    Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog post, “Be the Chicken Nugget in a Bag of Vegetables.” You asked me how you can attract more readers and get them to follow your blog. There’s no one single secret; a lot of it comes from learning and reading yourself, then putting all the bits and pieces you absorb together and figuring out the puzzle. You’re on the right track, though, by starting this blog! And, I began keeping my journal after reading the Diary of Anne Frank as well, when I was about 13 years old. =) On a side note, my blog didn’t start out this successful (and in the scheme of things, it still has a long way to go). It was actually originally called “Peanuts and Watermelon,” but after I gained more knowledge on the world of social media, I wasn’t afraid to completely make over my site.

    Here are a few tips to get you started on solidifying a personal “brand” online:
    1) I highly recommend reading the book “Crush It,” by Gary Vaynerchuk. He is the pioneer in developing your “personal brand” online and building a readership. In my current job, I had to build my company’s social media marketing strategy and was forced by my director to read his book, and I’m NOT sorry! His philosophy and advice is what started me down the road of building my blog into what it’s become today. Find it on Amazon here: http://amzn.to/nUMsv
    2) Your blog needs to be about something. Give it a theme, and let people get to know you. Engage with them. Reply to comments and comment on their sites. Notice on my site, the “theme,” or “brand” is Shari Lopatin: Rogue Writer. Everything on my site revolves around writing tips, creative short stories and communications development.
    3) Write flawless, engaging content. I must admit, much of my readership began building after WordPress “Freshly Pressed” me. That drove a lot of traffic to my site. However, they chose me for Freshly Pressed because my work was creative, engaging, error-free, and TAGGED. Tagging your posts is how they find you. And at the end of my posts, I INVITE people to subscribe to my blog. If you want some more tips on writing engaging content, check out my blog post, “5 Tips for Engaging Content–Captivate Your Audience!” here: http://bit.ly/d6S8w7.

    Good luck! And remember, in this age of social media, everyone is trying to figure out how to build a following. The more you read, and ponder how to use that knowledge, the more you’ll succeed! =)

    Shari

    • Thanks a lot Shari for these insights into blogging. As a newbie, I find it a tad difficult in figuring out subjects to write on; once I do find one, then ending it is even more tough.
      But your tips are great and let me see how I can practicalize them:-) Thanks again.
      Cheers!

  2. Very interesting number – facts and thanks to you for compiling them here. WordPress is much better than Blogger thanks to Matt Mullenweg.

Comments are closed.