The Book and The Movie – Eat Pray Love, PS I Love You

P.S. I Love YouRecently, I had a chance to watch 2 moviesP.S. I Love You and the well-acclaimed Eat, Pray, Love.

Around 2 weeks later, I also got my hands on the original books – P.S. I Love You by Cecilia Ahern and Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. Actually I am still reading Eat, Pray, Love (Liz has just reached Rome now).

To put it in a nutshell, I hated the book version of P.S. I Love You and hated the movie version of Eat, Pray, Love.

PSILU movie plot is as follows – a loving couple who had married young, faces a  tragedy when the husband dies. The movie weaves the past and present through a series of letters which Gerry (the husband) has left to Holly (the wife), and which are supposed to help her heal.

After watching PSILU, I really expected that the book would be on similar lines. But I was sorely disappointed. The movie really manages to lift your spirits and makes you feel that life can go on, even after such a tremendous loss. The book on the other hand, hmmm…I am not sure how to describe the book, except to say that I detested it, and couldn’t wait to be done with it. The book just makes me feel irritated with Holly, while the movie Holly has all my sympathies. In the movie, Holly manages to finally find her passion, on the other hand in the book, she finds a job and since she has nothing better to do at home, and because of her dead husband’s letters, she pours herself into it and starts liking it.

Hillary Swank (Holly) and Gerard Butler (Gerry) have done a fantastic job of bringing the characters to life and getting the viewers to latch on to every word and nuance in the movie. Certain sequences in the movie moved me to tears, which is more than I can say about the book.

Eat, Pray, LoveEat, Pray, Love has a divorcee (Liz) seeking answers to life and craving peace. She is disturbed by her divorce and plagued by general discontent with the world around her. The movie follows her though three continents in her quest for answers.

Now, EPL is an entirely different cup of tea. Here , the movie Liz kept bugging me, making me wonder “What the hell is the problem with this woman? She has everything in life but thinks that she has nothing”. I kept falling asleep in between and every time I woke up, the question in my mind was, “Will this woman ever be done with her journey?”. The movie projects the selfishness of Liz (at least that is the impression it left on me) and her quest for “inner peace“. For some reason, the movie does not get the real point across very clearly – it is extremely vague and keeps missing the real picture.

The part in India where she attends the marriage of a fellow ashramite – Liz advises the girl something which she herself does not seem to believe in. Yet, the girl is shown to be all so filled with gratitude for those words, when it is very clear that she hated getting married. I am not sure who is to blame for the movie’s failure to evoke any positive response – the scriptwriter, the actor, the director or someone else altogether.

Whereas, the book is much more like-able since it has Liz’s thoughts inscribed in it. It manages to convey to the reader the reasons for Liz’s journey and what she would like to find at the end of it. Whereas, watching the movie, I felt as though I had been set afloat in a rudderless boat in the ocean, with no clue on where I was going or why I was in the boat in the first place.

Anyway, so far I have gotten Liz to Rome, and I am certain that I will be with her for the rest of her journey –  through the book.

8 thoughts on “The Book and The Movie – Eat Pray Love, PS I Love You

  1. Hey, am reading EPL and liking it …just about reached India…but yes like u, the movie just made me feel uncomfortable for her…like she wont find what she is looking for.

    I quite loved P.s. i love u – the book more than the movie, howled my life out!!!

  2. Neither watched the movie nor read that book! Hah! 😀

    Recently happened to see Dhobi Ghat, Man Madhan Ambu and Paiyya… God, somebody kill me! Dumb movies, seriously!!! 😡

Comments are closed.