The Day I Lost My Heart

I was walking back from office one evening when I suddenly decided that I wanted to check out the neighbourhood FabIndia shop. It was around 6 by the time I came out of the shop, but not yet dark. And instead of the usual direct way home, I took the more circuitous way (which is incidentally why I got to write this post)

Filled with thoughts of my smiling, giggly Baby at home, I was fast approaching my home. And that’s when I heard it – a tiny whimper. It sounded like someone wounded.

I looked around me – but could not see the source of the sound. Thinking that maybe it was a bird or a distant car horn, I walked ahead.

Again. The whimper started. This time, I stopped in my tracks and looked carefully around. I was almost near my home and just a few steps would take me in. But I couldn’t ignore that sound. It seemed so sad and I was compelled to do something for whoever it was.

That was when I saw it – a little stray puppy laying on its side near the kerb was whimpering. It had tears coming out of its eyes and seemed to be in a lot of pain. My own eyes were filled when I saw it. For some reason, the little thing reminded me of my Baby and the way he whimpers when he is sad.

I stood staring at it for some time, and resolutely walked ahead to reach the sanctuary of my home. What could I do? I live in a small apartment with no place for pets. Besides, I had my baby to consider – the puppy was a stray, and who knew what diseases it might bring into my home?

As I climbed the stairs to the second floor, I couldn’t resist looking at the little one. There were several people walking by – some who didn’t spare even a glance at the little thing, and some who kept pointing at it, some laughing at it.

But who am I to cast stones? And it now makes me sad to realise that maybe I could have at least given it some water and alleviated its suffering.

And it has awakened a new thought in me – here was a little animal in suffering and I ignored it. So did so many passersby. Would I and these ‘Others’ do the same if it was a fellow human in a similar situation? What if I or the ‘Others’ had to get somewhere quickly? Or what if it was dangerous to get involved? Would we leave that human to fate?

This post has been written as part of Blogadda’s contest for Too Busy To Care Syndrome in collaboration withΒ Tata Tea Jaago Re!

I am too busy to care, but want to do something.Β Jaago Re and BlogAdda.com are helping me do my bit for the society.

11 thoughts on “The Day I Lost My Heart

  1. He looks so cute… πŸ™‚
    I feel bad the even I have been a part of those “others” as you mentioned…
    All the best for your entry… πŸ™‚

  2. I loved this post because I do have been on both ends of the situation. I have passed by others that had needed help because I was busy, running late, worried about my own safety,etc. And I have been passed by when my car broke down in college at night and I was stranded on the side of the road (this was in pre-cell phone days).
    This post reminded me of the story of the good samaritan in the bible (Luke 10:25-37) – I always wonder if I could be that good samaritan or if I would be one of those that just walked on by too wrapped up in my own life and my own problems.
    It really makes you think ~ great post ! πŸ™‚

    • I know about the story of the Good Samaritan. When we hear the story, we always tend to identify with the Good Samaritan, it is really difficult to do that.

  3. That must have been a tough one, Merry. While I have reposnded at times, at most other times I have had to leave without responding. I now have helplines of shelters — both animal and human that I call if I feel that some intervention is required. That is my response to such situations.

Comments are closed.