How to Entice Your Audience into Reading Your Posts

I made a great discovery today!

I found out how to pique my readers’ interest in my post and make them click for MORE ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you ever noticed this buttonย  right here on the ‘Kitchen Sink’ ?

It inserts a separator – that looks something like this –ย 

Here is what you do –

  1. Write your post in WordPress.
  2. Identify that part of your post which can (more or less) arrest your reader’s attention. (psst…it can even be a picture)
  3. Click that ‘Insert More’ button I told you about from the Kitchen Sink.
  4. Notice that cool separator that has appeared on your post?
  5. Now go ahead and publish that post.

When someone lands on your blog, this is what they get to see –

I love you WordPress ๐Ÿ™‚ You know just what my blog needs!
Tell me, did you know that WP had such a feature?

7 thoughts on “How to Entice Your Audience into Reading Your Posts

  1. Interesting… no I had no idea about it ๐Ÿ˜

    But isn’t there a risk that the reader finds it annoying to have to go to another page to finish reading a post?

    • I think a blog needs readers who are serious about reading and not those who just skim through reading just the titles. Besides, if we manage to make the excerpt and the title interesting enough, maybe the reader wouldn’t mind having to click the link.

  2. I use it not to entice my audience but to keep the home page length short. A summary on the home page would be very good for the audience. Making the more tag means less unnecessary text to be scrolled, only highlight the topic with the introductory paragraph, so that the visitor can quickly scan through the posts and visit the one which they need.

Comments are closed.