Second Move in 8 Months

So, the title says it all. We have moved house yet another time, the second shifting in 8 months. Yesterday was the grand day.

After getting all kinds of reassurances from the owner that the house was in spick-and-span condition, we had a minor shock when we moved in. The house reeked of fresh paint, the floor was covered in a layer of dust, the calling bell wouldn’t work, the newly installed wash basin had a leak and neither our bedroom, nor the kitchen balcony had a lock.

Of course, we immediately got into touch with the owner and he agreed to reimburse the one-time cleaning charges for the house. ANd then we got to work, cleaning and scrubbing. Of course, Little One was completely bewildered. He was in an unknown place, and neither his Dad nor Mom seemed particularly interested in him, with a scolding every time he tried to explore a new shelf, cupboard or even the floor. Finally, irritated with everyone and everything around him, he decided to do what he knew best. He sat on the floor and started to bawl.

Of course, that got everyone’s attention and soon he was in my arms. And when he got bored with me, he would jump into his Dad’s arms.

To tell more about the house, it is on the fifth floor, just 5 minutes away from my office and is very bright and airy. It has four (!!!) balconies, where we have a very nice view of the road construction and get a great opportunity to inhale all that dust into our lungs. Here are some pics –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the 5 years of my marriage, I have lived in 4 different houses, with this being the fifth one. I hope the next move will be to a home of my own, and I finally can live a settled life after leading a nomadic existence for ages.

7 thoughts on “Second Move in 8 Months

  1. Wow, I’m amazed how well you handled all the moves. After moving that many times i’d probably lose my mind! good luck in this new place 🙂

  2. Glad you are out of the shifting phase!
    Congrats on the new home and I’m happy it’s close to your office! 🙂

    4 balconies! WOW! 😀

    P.S.: Please check your (FC) mail! 😉

  3. Ugh. Moving. I feel your pain! But I fear yours is worse than mine, with that many moves under your belt. The good thing about so many moves, I would think, is that you must have it down to a science at this point. I should have come to you for advice before my recent move!

    Thank you for subscribing to my blog, Fire Crystals! I have had a bit of an unplanned hiatus from blogging (thanks to my move), and look forward to getting back to writing and reading more often!

    Best,

    AA

Comments are closed.