Product Review: Pantene Total Damage Care Range

I was very pleasantly surprised when Rebecca emailed me one fine day and asked if I would like to be a part of reviewing the new Shampoo and Conditioner from Pantene – The Total Damage Care range.

Pantene Total Damage Care ShampooI am generally not a fan of the Pantene range of shampoos as they tend to dry out my hair and make it quite rough. But since I love trying out new shampoos and conditioners, I happily agreed to check out this new offering from Pantene.

Now, the Total Damage Care Range supposedly offers protection against the daily damage inflicted on your hair – protecting your hair against split ends, dryness, roughness, dullness, weakness, brittleness and tangles, leaving your hair moisturized, stronger and visibly less damaged within 14 days.

The products came to me within a couple of weeks, well sealed in a rough wooden box. I was able to pry off the lid only after taking help from my brother. What on earth did they think they were sending to be packed up so secure – the Crown Jewels?

Anyway, once I got the lid loose, I found that Pantene had sent across 2 bottles of shampoo and 1 of conditioner. Hmmm, I wonder why cosmetic companies always make conditioner bottles smaller than shampoo bottles?Pantene Total Damage Care Conditioner

I was quite keen to try them out. Immediately oiled up my hair. Remember – Never, Ever use shampoo without oiling your hair first – Indian hair has a tendency to be completely stripped of its moisture by shampoos and oiling your hair first, prevents that from occurring.

Shampoo - on my handAfter oiling my hair, I washed it and then applied the shampoo. It was just the right consistency, had a nice scent, and was white in colour. It went on quite well on my hair – lathered it up and left on for a few minutes. Then I washed it off.

My hair now had a delicious scent and felt squeaky clean. But it was the conditioner that totally knocked me over. I applied the conditioner on my hair, left it on a few minutes again (while reading in the bath – I know, my husband also marvels at the places that I read in!) and washed it off using loads of H2O.Conditioner - on my Hand

Rubbed my hair dry and waited for the magic promised by Pantene. Once my hair was completely dry, I was amazed to find how soft my hair felt. Not sure if it looked soft but I was definitely happy with it.

Pros of the Total Damage Care Range from Pantene:

1. Cleans hair and softens it.

2. Great scent, not too overpowering

3. Neither too runny nor too thick – consistency of shampoo and conditioner easy enough to be handled.

4. My hair remains quite tangle-free (or maybe that is because I don’t have too much hair to get tangled up in the first place)

5. Split ends also seem to have reduced and hair feels more glossy.

Cons:

1. I wouldn’t say that this is sure shot against the roughness and dryness. From the day you use the shampoo and conditioner, the hair looks and feels wonderful for two days. After that, it looks as usual.

2. It doesn’t do much for brittleness either – if your hair was brittle before, it will still continue to remain so whether you use this shampoo or not.

As shampoos go, this one is not bad – at least it works great as a normal shampoo and conditioner – something I can’t say about all shampoos I have used. Even though it doesn’t live up to all its claims, it doesn’t do any harm to the hair. And for all that, I’d rate the Total Damage Care Range Shampoo and Conditioner a 3 out of 5.

One thought on “Product Review: Pantene Total Damage Care Range

Comments are closed.